Canada unveiled a National Action Plan to fight Human Trafficking

Greetings from The Slave Detective,

Firstly let me apologise for my recent slackness in posting comment. I put it down to the flurry of activity around The Diamond Jubilee and the brilliant festivities that required my attention. If you couldn’t make London Then I hope you were able to catch a flavour of it via The Media.

But back to the matter in hand. Canada, (where I have a following) have announced a bold action plan to tackle Human Trafficking.

The federal government unveiled today a national action plan to fight human trafficking, calling it a modern-day version of slavery.

Public Safety Minister Vic Toews and Status of Women Minister Rona Ambrose announced the four-pillar plan in Ottawa to identify, disrupt and prosecute human traffickers in Canada.

 Vic Toews said “They will be targeted and held accountable for their crime.”

 It is great to see such a powerful and positive statement from Government ministers.

It is also good to see that Canada have a Government Minister for The Status of Woman. Though obviously I have made the point many times that it isn’t just women who fall foul to Traffickers and it is often the male victims who get over looked.

But this move can do nothing but raise the profile of the trafficked victim and made Canadians sit up and take note to what is happening around them. I note that some of the comments attached to this article are from persons who have yet to fully grasp that Slavery is the most repulsive crime within humanity.

At least they are reading about it. Good luck to Canada and I hope that I can assist in some small way. Read these articles and enjoy them with me.

Leave a Reply

