Can we say who is right? Try My Poll.

Greetings from The Slave Detective,

backpagegirl

I can contain myself no longer.

As I have previously stated I was recently in Switzerland.

I was very fortunate to have an inside track on several levels in the Prostitution area’s of some major cities.

I met Police, NGO’s, Licensing Officers and victims of trafficking.

I confess I wasn’t introduced to any current sex workers that I know of!

Switzerland is, of course, one of the countries that prostitution is legalised and ‘regulated’.

I had to ask………………. ‘How is IT regulated?’

This is done by the local Council or ‘Canton’.

Each Canton has different rules. Some Canton’s have officers who check ‘Sex Workers’ permits.

In some Canton’s there is no ‘street prostitution’ and ‘Houses’ are licensed. These ‘Houses’ are visited to ensure all is well with those working there.

Some ‘Houses are so established that anyone attempting to under cut services are encouraged to go elsewhere.

Then there are sex clubs which any person can apply for a licence and as long as you have no criminal history a permit is granted.

I then discovered that these are issued on-line, hardly any checks are done or licences are rarely checked.

So I asked the authorities dealing with the Sex Services Offered was this a good structure.

Surprisingly none of the persons working in this industry thought that it worked.

Switzerland’s industry varies from quite well Policed to almost no compliance in some towns. One law enforcement officer said there is one town that is a complete no go area and over run with Organised Crime in The Vice World.

NONE thought the Swiss model was a good one. All said that Human Trafficking was a huge problem.

I expected to be told that the Swiss model was efficient and working well. I was very surprised when the only person I met that thought The Swiss model was good, was a female NGO. She argued strongly that those involved in prostitution were well protected and worked for themselves.

I asked if any work had been done to establish if those working in Switzerland as Sex Workers had all gone into the trade willingly without coercion or any form of control or exploitation.

I was told by this lady that Sex workers in Switzerland were safe.

I was dismissed when I quoted the Brazilian Government saying that at least 337 people, the majority of whom were women, were forced to leave Brazil and become prostitutes.

The main destinations in Europe were Switzerland (127 victims), Spain (104) and Holland (71). In these countries prostitution is regulated and allowed as any other profession.

I offered up The Swedish model as possibly a better example of controlling Prostitution. Once again I was dismissed as poorly informed.

I raise this because there is an article today in an Irish Newspaper were the Swedish model is also examined.

Detective Supt Kajsa Wahlberg is the Swedish Rapporteur on human trafficking, members of the EU network responsible for monitoring the implementation of anti-trafficking policy in their member states.

She is regularly invited to international expert meetings on trafficking in human beings by bodies such as Europol, Interpol, the OSCE, and the Task Force on Organized Crime in the Baltic Sea Region. Since 2008, she is also a permanent member of the European Commission Group of Experts on Trafficking in Human Beings. I had the pleasure of meeting her in Talin, Estonia.

“The police authorities in Sweden have used this legislation for over 15 years,” she told the News Letter. “Initially, some police authorities were doubtful about the possible effectiveness of the law, and how to enforce it.”

She adds: “In fact, very soon it became clear that the law is an excellent tool to hold individuals that purchase a sexual service accountable for their actions. But it also allows us to use it to reach and investigate those who organise prostitution activities in Sweden — whether they are local organised crime elements or cross-border traffickers.”

She refers to the “comprehensive evaluation of the effects of the law” which was led by the Swedish Chancellor of Justice, Anna Skarhed, as evidence that the law is effective.

I would love to see Detective Supt Kajsa Wahlberg chat with The lady from The NGO. I think it would be an interesting conversation.

Then I thought it might be a good idea to ask what you the reader thinks.

Which legislation do you think protects victims of trafficking. The Swiss/German/Dutch model or the Swedish and maybe soon Irish model?

I hope this Poll works. Let me know what you think?

If you would like me to ask this differently let me know.

One response to “Can we say who is right? Try My Poll.

  1. Hi there,

    welcome back, you were missed!!!!
    excellent article, however I think you should re-word your question. It is too open.

Leave a Reply

